Deep Fried Goodness – Take 2.

So.. my apartment now bears the unmistakable aroma of fried food. I am full and victorious. There were no more oil-related mishaps!

I started off by mixing up some tempura batter, and dipping the mushrooms. They fried up really quickly.  The combination of the crunch from the batter and the juiciness of the mushroom made for a delightful appetizer.

golden mushroom of perfection

We moved on to the main event after this. Wings. I deep fried the wings, then shook them up with some sauce.  Admittedly, this wasn’t an artisan type meal.. It was mostly me buying some bottled wing sauce and then fixing it by making it much sweeter. The stuff we got was horribly vinegary, to the point that it actually burnt my throat.  1 bottle of sauce, 1/2 jar of honey, 1/3 cup apricot jelly, 4 tbsp maple syrup, and some salt later.. it became palatable.

delicious wings utter decimation

After we utterly destroyed the wings, I kinda felt like I needed to be hosed down. My hands were almost dripping with sauce.  So messy. So freaking good.

About The Confluent Kitchen

I am food obsessed. I love trying new recipes, putzing in the kitchen, making my own cheese and other random kitchen tom-foolery. Follow my exploits.. the good, the bad, and the burnt.
This entry was posted in Bar Food, Cooking. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

