Braciole

So I decided to do an Italy inspired menu this week, but .. alas. Life has really gotten in the way. I was finally able to do something today, though. I am really excited about the way they turned out.

First I started off with a can and a half of crushed tomatoes. I added some fresh basil, oregano, mushrooms, thyme, some salt, pepper, and a half a bottle of cab… I simmered that for about an hour, then started on the main event: Braciole.

I pounded flat a few slabs of beef, coated them with minced mushroom, oregano, grated romano cheese, and thyme. I tied them closed with butcher string, then browned them off. Once done, I took them for a swim in the red sauce I made. Put it all in the oven and let it go for 2 hours at 375.

braciole

I paired it with some spaghetti and garlic bread to complete what can only be described as an EPIC meal. EPIC!

I highly suggest that you try it sometime.

Any suggestions for how to continue my Italy inspired dinner menu?

About The Confluent Kitchen

I am food obsessed. I love trying new recipes, putzing in the kitchen, making my own cheese and other random kitchen tom-foolery. Follow my exploits.. the good, the bad, and the burnt.
This entry was posted in Cooking, Italian Food. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Braciole

  1. Charles Vanderford says:

    When I was looking for the definitive Italian cookbook, I kept hearing “Marcella Hazan”. I would recommend browsing some of her recipes online and seeing if something looks yummy.

    • Thanks! I will totally check it out. It all looks yummy.. that’s kind of the issue. I’m trying to pick things that are not exactly the norm, along with some of the classic stuff… I’m trying to stick with a theme for about 4 -5 dishes, then pick a different nationality/region so we don’t totally burn out on something.

      Next up: Middle Eastern.

Leave a Reply

