Gorgonzola – The Michael Jordan of cheeses..

So tonight I made a mushroom ravioli with a sage and brown butter sauce. It was subtle.. and I have determined that I’m not a huge fan of sage and brown butter sauce.

Tonight the story isn’t really about the pasta, though rather tasty, but the conversation that ensued upon eating. So here’s a loose transcript of the conversation.

Roy (boyfriend):   This could use a little gorgonzola.

Me: No. If we added gorgonzola it would overpower the sauce.

Roy: Still needs gorgonzola.

Me: If I add gorgonzola then this becomes another dish.

Roy: No. Just a little bit.

Me:  No. I’m telling you..

Roy: Ok.. fine, but can we at least agree that gorgonzola is the Michael Jordan of cheeses?

Me: *pause a moment for consideration*  Yes.

This then broke down into a really condescening explanation about how Scotty Pippen is like butter, and Tony Kukoc is like sage.. but that the dish needed a star… (like MJ)

I probably should have put some red pepper flakes in the oil. A little more lemon squeezed over top. Overall it was good, but not great. Apparently just like Scottie Pippen.

About The Confluent Kitchen

I am food obsessed. I love trying new recipes, putzing in the kitchen, making my own cheese and other random kitchen tom-foolery. Follow my exploits.. the good, the bad, and the burnt.
This entry was posted in Cooking, Italian Food and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Gorgonzola – The Michael Jordan of cheeses..

  1. That picture has my stomach rumbling!

Leave a Reply

