Cuddle food.

So, tonight, I decided to make some comfort food. Nothing fancy.. just a dish that always leaves me feeling full, happy, and warm.. like I’ve just been cuddled…. And… dinner is…. Macaroni and cheese.

Those who know me can attest to the fact that I make a pretty bitchin macaroni and cheese. Here’s how!

I put a pan of water on to boil for the pasta.

I start by chopping about half a medium onion, 5 cloves of garlic (mince finely, please), and 6 roma tomatoes. I saute these items in a pan until the tomatoes start to break down a bit and give off liquid. Season with salt, pepper, and 1/2 tsp of dried oregano. Stir, then turn off.

Make a roux in a sauce pot.. 1 tbsp butter, 1 tbsp flour. Add 1/2 cup milk, then about 12 oz sharp cheddar once the milk begins to bubble a bit. You’ll wanna turn it down at this point, lest you burn your beautiful mornay sauce.  Stir every couple of minutes so it doesn’t stick, separate, or burn.

I use the pre-shredded stuff. It’s easier, and the flavor is still great. If you’re a purist and refuse to use something pre-shredded, be sure you grate your cheese first.

So, at this point, the water should be boiling. Salt the water. Please.

Boil the noodles of your choice, though I’d suggest something short. No linguine, spaghetti, etc.. I like/used rigatoni because it was on sale and I had a bag left. But seriously, go wild here.

Once the pasta is cooked to your liking, drain. Put it all back in the pan you cooked the pasta in. Add the cheese, stir it in. You’ll notice it looks creamy and delicious like you’ve used velveeta.. (but you haven’t because it’s gross!!)  Add the tomato mixture in. Stir again. Season to taste.

Good news. No baking. No bread crumbs. Just put some in a bowl and enjoy!

 

 

About The Confluent Kitchen

I am food obsessed. I love trying new recipes, putzing in the kitchen, making my own cheese and other random kitchen tom-foolery. Follow my exploits.. the good, the bad, and the burnt.
This entry was posted in Cooking, Putzing in the kitchen and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

