More First World Problems: The Truffle Debacle

So, today was a pretty epic day. Part of the epic-ness is centered around my trip to the Burbank Farmer’s Market. They had all kinds of terrific stands.. my favorite being the mushroom stand. I left with $15 of mixed mushrooms.. (chanterelle, portabello, king oyster, enoki.. etc) .. and 6 small oregon white truffles. *squee*  This set me up for an epic mushroom risotto with truffle shaved over top.

So, when I get home, it occurs to me that I don’t really have anything suitable for shaving truffles.. My knife skills are pretty good but not paper thin truffle slices good. Roy and I take a jaunt over to Williams-Sonoma for a truffle shaver.. Sadly, after two individuals check for me, they are out of stock. The helpful clerk suggests Sur la Table across the street.. so we walk across the street, and they TOO are out of truffle shavers.

Seriously. I’ve managed to get 6 truffles, and I have no viable tool to ensure that they’re sliced thinly enough????  This is really the ultimate first world problem. I ended up using a vegetable peeler instead.

So, with that being said, the risotto was fabulous but it really had nothing to do with the truffles. I think it was mostly the mushroom. They smell fabulous, but the taste was pretty subtle.. and not worth what I spent on it.

But hey.. I got a vegetable peeler!!

About The Confluent Kitchen

I am food obsessed. I love trying new recipes, putzing in the kitchen, making my own cheese and other random kitchen tom-foolery. Follow my exploits.. the good, the bad, and the burnt.
This entry was posted in Cooking, Kitchen Fail, Putzing in the kitchen and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

