Organic American Fare

So, after our little trip to the farmer’s market, we wrapped up the grocery shopping at Sprout’s. We planned out our meals, but I won’t commit them to the blog because:

  1. I like the element of surprise..
  2. It’s subject to change without notice. πŸ˜€

We ended up with mostly organic food this week. You really can tell the difference with certain things. Take, for instance, the grass fed beef we got. It’s a flank steak.. not really the most tender piece of meat, but still.. this was much more tender than an ordinary flank steak. The flavor was great! Much more pronounced. I feel like all beef should taste like that.

Tonight’s meal was fairly elaborate. We had Grilled Flank Steak with Mushrooms and Onions (sauteed in white wine).. asparagus with a loose hollandaise sauce because I added a litttttttle too much butter. (Still fabulous)… And some fingerling potatoes, smashed slightly, cooked in bacon fat with some cippolini onions and of course bacon bits.

I would like to point out that spell check suggested that I perhaps meant crippling onions. Clearly spell check does not have a very refined palate.

When describing it above, it sounds like we ate a ton of food, but it wasn’t that heavy. This was the first time that we’d eaten purple potatoes. They’re slightly creamier in texture. Verdict: Delicious.

About The Confluent Kitchen

I am food obsessed. I love trying new recipes, putzing in the kitchen, making my own cheese and other random kitchen tom-foolery. Follow my exploits.. the good, the bad, and the burnt.
This entry was posted in Cooking, Organic, Putzing in the kitchen and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Organic American Fare

  1. I could have used this today, looks so filling and delicious!

  2. ooooh. Our farmer’s market is very much seasonal. I pretty much hold my breath until it’s back again. And thankfully, when it is, it’s basically in our backyard. This looks delicious! I was just looking at purple potatoes the other day- they were good? My kids are pretty willing to eat foods of new colors, but hubby… meh, not always so much. Well, he’s willing to eat it, but he doesn’t always go into it with an open mind!

    • They’ve got them all over the place out here (I’m in LA) but the one with the mushrooms and stuff was a couple blocks away. The purple potatoes were great. They were a little less grainy than other potatoes when I boil them. I think neither your kids or hubby could find fault in them. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

