A 30 minute meal… but nothing like that crap Rachael Ray makes. I promise.

Tonight’s meal was quick, easy, and freaking delicious.  It only took about 25 minutes, too.

We had salmon with a lemon caper sauce, swiss chard, and cous cous.

So, I started with a pretty large salmon fillet. I pan fried this in some butter and olive oil, seasoned it simply. Salt and pepper. Then proceeded to unstick it from the pan. :/

Put some swiss chard that I’d removed the stems from into a pot with some olive oil, a minced shallot, and one minced clove of elephant garlic. I stirred every so often, cooking it until it had softened but not turned to mush.

Boiled a bit of water for some cous cous, then added some beef boullion, steeped it for about 7 minutes until the liquid evaporated.

Once the salmon was done, the cous cous complete, and the chard finished.. I put the juice of 3 lemons in the salmon pan to deglaze. I then added half a stick of butter, plus a little salt and pepper. I turned the heat on, added some capers and a bit of the juice. Just waited til the butter was melted and spooned it over the fish.

It was probably the quickest of the dishes I’ve done so far, with the exception of possibly the nachos. It’s one of those deceptive dishes, that you feel would take much longer to make than it does. I left the table feeling like a rockstar. 🙂

About The Confluent Kitchen

I am food obsessed. I love trying new recipes, putzing in the kitchen, making my own cheese and other random kitchen tom-foolery. Follow my exploits.. the good, the bad, and the burnt.
This entry was posted in Cooking, Organic, Putzing in the kitchen and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A 30 minute meal… but nothing like that crap Rachael Ray makes. I promise.

  1. Thank you for showing how easy it is to get a balanced, healthy meal on the table using real food. It’s going to take years to undo the damage that little troll has done to people’s diets. Glad you’re with me in the struggle, Comrade.

Leave a Reply

