Burbank Farmer’s Market – Take 2

Today we took another trip to the Burbank Farmer’s Market. I freaking love that place! We ended up with some great grass fed NY Strip Steaks.. If you’ve not tried grass fed beef, I urge you (probably not for the first time) to do so. The flavor is amazing.  We picked up some rapini, swiss chard, shallots, local honey and various other delicious things.

We finally broke down and got a patio set since grilling season approaches. We spent the evening putting it together. Things didn’t fit QUITE the way they should have so there was sweating, and cursing.. but we emerged victorious. It was about 9:30 when we wrapped things up and we were a scant few moments away from making a run for the border, but we got all this great stuff. Luckily, sense prevailed, and we fired up the grill.

I suck at grilling things. Typically I overcook, so I let Roy do that man work.. it would be sacrilege to overcook such great beef anyway. I got to work on the side dishes. I sauteed shitake mushrooms in some butter.. made a sweet potato mash with cinnamon and honey, then prepared swiss chard with shallot and garlic. I wrapped up this already fabulous meal by honoring a request for bleu cheese butter.

On a side note, as I sit here and write this entry, my cat has figured out how the television works. She was watching Roy play Skyrim and there was a screen up with some random info.. The kind you get when you’re changing scenes. It had some smoke on it, so she walked up to the TV and started batting at it.. THEN she walked to the edge of my TV and looked around it.. then looked back at me and put her paws on the screen where the edge of the table was, looked confused, then ran away to bite her sister.

Drusilla is an evil genius. I am in trouble if she grows thumbs.

About The Confluent Kitchen

I am food obsessed. I love trying new recipes, putzing in the kitchen, making my own cheese and other random kitchen tom-foolery. Follow my exploits.. the good, the bad, and the burnt.
This entry was posted in Cooking, Organic, Putzing in the kitchen and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Burbank Farmer’s Market – Take 2

  1. [Food + cats] Post = personal winning combo

  2. Yum! Ps. If you got those plates from Ikea, I have them too! Amazing, and don’t you worry about keeping cat posts to a minimum. Post what you love!

Leave a Reply

