My Farmer’s Market Haul.. and why I might have a problem.

I made my weekly journey into downtown Burbank for the local farmer’s market on foot. This was a poor life choice, because I was loaded down with about 15 extra pounds of stuff on my walk back, which was about 5 blocks. No big deal except that my hands have these bag indents from holding my stuff. But enough of my first world issues. This weeks haul includes:

Swiss Chard (It’s so good, I can’t help myself.)

Japanese sweet potatoes

Beets

Carrots

Cabbage

1 fresh maitake mushroom (it’s a big bunch)

dried porcini mushrooms

dried morels

So, to the real problem.. I think I might actually have an impulse control problem when it comes to the mushroom booth at the farmers market. I can’t leave that booth with less than 20 dollars worth of stuff EVER. I guess I should just be glad that it’s only a ‘once a week’ thing or I’d have to start hooking at night to make ends meet. *sigh*

I should preface the next paragraph with some information about my cats. The little one will eat anything. No, really. ANYTHING. Tacks, paper, plastic, screws, meat, vegetables, vertical blinds, my other cat’s vomit.. You name it, it’s been in her mouth and most likely her stomach. Obviously I try to stop her from eating the stuff that won’t digest but she’s really a force of nature. I kinda feel like I should cage her during the day, but I can’t bring myself to do it.

ANYWAY.. with that information in mind, I just caught her sticking her little face into my mushroom bag. She grabbed my dried morels that were in a ziplock baggie and hauled ass into the bedroom with it. Luckily I noticed, or she would have been dead to me for at least 2 hours.. I snagged it back, and scolded her.. for whatever good that does.

Mommy’s girl looks so cute and unassuming here.
She is a terror.

So my other, equally loved, cat doesn’t feel left out.. I present to you my ginger princess. (Yes, she has a soul. Dark though it may be)

Isis – Destroyer of Worlds.

On that note, I bid you adieu until after dinner. 🙂

About The Confluent Kitchen

I am food obsessed. I love trying new recipes, putzing in the kitchen, making my own cheese and other random kitchen tom-foolery. Follow my exploits.. the good, the bad, and the burnt.
This entry was posted in Cooking, Organic, Rambling and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to My Farmer’s Market Haul.. and why I might have a problem.

  1. Danny says:

    After reading the headline and skimming to see photos I started wondering when they started selling cats at the farmer’s market. After reading further I became jealous since you have them year round and I have to wait a few more months until they start in late Spring. Finally, you had me cracking up – I could see you fighting the cat for your precious mushrooms. I would have done the same 🙂 Moral of the story – drive, don’t walk.

    • I try not to take pictures of my food until I’ve transformed it into something yummy.. but I can see why there would be concern about cat pictures on a food blog. lol.

      I really love the fact they’re here year round. You can’t always get everything but I don’t have a problem with eating seasonally. It feels like that’s what we would be doing without all this modern refrigerated trucking and NAFTA and what have you.

      Seriously, I think my cat thinks she’s a goat. We got her from a lady who had this urban farm setting with goats, a horse, lots of cats and dogs, and a tortoise or 3. I have a feeling she may have spent a lot of time with the goats. She chews on my couches.. she’s the devil.

      Yeah. Thought I would be all healthy and walk.. I will probably skip that from now on. 🙂

  2. Pingback: Farmers Market Finds | The Confluent Kitchen

Leave a Reply

