A Red Letter Week!

So I got my very first blog award this week. I’ve been blogging now for about 2 months, so it is pretty cool to know that I am reaching my intended audience. It’s also great to know that my kitchen-related adventures and mishaps are interesting enough that people actually come back to read more. Yay for validation!  *prance*

Now, however, I am feeling like a total rock star. I was awarded not one, but TWO blog awards today by Danny’s Kitchen.  Thanks for the recognition!

      

Of course, my first order of business is to re-gift these to some other deserving folks. I just did this a couple of days ago, so I feel like I’ve had some great practice now.

  • http://laborofwonder.com – We share a lot of the same views on intentional eating, and she takes the ultimate job (being a mommy) very seriously. Plus, you have to respect someone willing to make their own shampoo and toothpaste. Her blog is funny, well-written, and easy to identify with.

  • http://letsspicethingsupinvegas.wordpress.com/ – I don’t think I’ve seen a dessert recipe on her page that didn’t look phenomenal. I tried her boston creme cup cakes for Valentines Day. Wow!

  • http://jenmaaninamman.com –  A stranger in a strange land, she chronicles her exploits in Amman. With all of the social adaptation that must be required when moving across the world, reading (and seeing through picture) some of the interesting things that she does or gets to see.. It’s worth the read!

  • http://kitchenslattern.com/ – She is bold, irreverent, and hilarious. Her views on food crack me up. What ever you do, don’t ask for the recipe for secret treasure loaf though!

Now, the details.. I guess now, I’d like to talk about my culinary point of view. I don’t come from a gourmet background. Quite the opposite. We were an average, middle-class family. Two working parents, dinner every night at the table or sometimes in front of the TV. This normalcy is part of what shaped my culinary point of view.

My mom is a teachers assistant, and she worked the same hours we went to school, so about the time we were making it home, she’d be getting there, and starting on dinner. Dinner was always on the table… though sometimes its origins were questionable.

What I mean to say is that dinner usually consisted of:  Meat baked in the over with some salt, pepper, and garlic powder, some sort of frozen or canned vegetable, and rice from a pouch (or noodles, or maybe instant mashed potatoes).. that was dinner. A time we all sat together and hung out.. ate food, then went about our lives.

Once I moved out, I realized how culinarily sheltered I’d been. I didn’t have a tuna steak until I was 27 (and damn was it good).. I didn’t  use mushrooms (not out of a can) until I was 25.. I did things the way that Mom did them, and didn’t really think much beyond that. I don’t know when I had the epiphany, but it turned on like a light switch.

One day I was like, holy crap – Why don’t I try making that fresh instead of buying it?  Wow.. salt is my friend! Why the hell am I eating crap out of a can when I can make it myself? Things that are made fresh really taste much better!

Once I made these discoveries, I was off an running. I make my own pasta, my own tortillas, my own cheese.. This week I will be curing salmon for the first time. They all taste a million times better when made fresh. Organic foods.. No additives, no preservatives. I figure, when you eat pretty much whatever the hell you want, it should be as pure as possible.

Anyway, that’s a little bit about me and how I came to be here. Thanks for reading my blog and letting me read yours. It’s been awesome so far and will probably exponentially more awesome as time goes on.

About The Confluent Kitchen

I am food obsessed. I love trying new recipes, putzing in the kitchen, making my own cheese and other random kitchen tom-foolery. Follow my exploits.. the good, the bad, and the burnt.
This entry was posted in Cooking, Organic, Putzing in the kitchen, Rambling and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to A Red Letter Week!

  1. cafesatsunset says:

    Congratulations! I like your idea of ‘intentional eating.’ We consume so much of our food on the run, in the car, out on the town, that we spend little time thinking through and planning food options. I think the more we are consumed with diseases and conditions that diet and exercise can affect, such as diabetes, the more we will (hopefully!) become intentional with our food intake. Looking forward to hearing more about your adventures!

    • Awesome. I agree. My sister has rheumatoid arthritis, and she was just talking to me the other day about changing her diet and hoping that would help her alleviate some of the pain associated with it. It’s amazing how something as small as a diet change can make such a profound difference. Diabetes is a great example of that too. Welcome aboard! 🙂

  2. Madhu says:

    Congratulations! That is well deserved recognition!

  3. Yay for you! I’ve always found it interesting that people “get” that the things they put on their body (lotions, facial things, etc.) can have negative efects and seeps into the body, when soooo many people don’t “get” how food goes straight in and OF COURSE it has an effect on the body!

  4. WSW says:

    Both awards are richly deserved! Thanks for not only taking the time to write about the importance of fresh food, but also showing people how easy it can be to eat better. Now, I don’t make my own cheese, or cure salmon, but after reading your blog, I SERIOUSLY CONSIDERED both (until the gin hit my brain and led me to the sofa for yet another Ab Fab marathon — alas, nobody’s perfect.).

  5. So looking forward to seeing pictures of your cured salmon, I can taste it a,ready…yum…

    How’s the bacon frenzy going by the way!

Leave a Reply

