Lasagna Leftovers. It’s what’s for dinner

So last night I was feeling super productive after I made the butter, but oddly didn’t use any of it in the meal. I decided lasagna was in order. I figured if I made a huge pan, we’d be able to eat off of that for a few days. I mixed up a half pound of pork and a half pound of beef, seasoned it liberally with salt/pepper/oregano/thyme/garlic bits. Mixed some store bought ricotta (because I had neither the time nor inclination to make my own this weekend).. layered some oven ready noodles in the pan. Lazy, I know.. but they were organic at least. Combine this with a homemade sauce.. bake for 45 minutes at 350 and you get this magnificence:

All goldeny delicious melty top crust.. but the inside is really where my downfall has always been. I usually can’t manage to keep it in one peice.. I’m not sure why, but this is the story of my (very short) lasagna making life. I’ve only made it twice before this attempt.

Success. The third time must be the charm because it stayed in one peice and photographed quite nicely!

I am missing a small chunk of meat out of the side there.. but I assure you it was because I ate it. 😀

I was really happy with the end result, except the salt level wasn’t quite right. Then again, I used oven ready noodles and couldn’t season them… so I guess that’s my own lazy fault.

About The Confluent Kitchen

I am food obsessed. I love trying new recipes, putzing in the kitchen, making my own cheese and other random kitchen tom-foolery. Follow my exploits.. the good, the bad, and the burnt.
This entry was posted in Bad Food That Tastes Great, Comfort Food, Italian Food, Organic, Putzing in the kitchen and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

