And on the sixth day.. there was bacon

To spite the fact that I was on pins and needles in anticipation of bacon-y goodness, this week really flew by. When I got home from work today, the first thing I did was to pull the bacon out of the fridge, get it onto a sheet tray and into the oven. The final.. I guess.. slow roast was supposed to be at 200 degrees, and it was supposed to take about 2 hours. My oven may run slightly hot, or my pork belly may have been sized differently, but this process really took about an hour and a half. From there I was supposed to let it cool down and store it. Yeah right.

As soon as it completed it’s final descent into bacon-dom, I cut off a couple slices and fried them up. Pictured below, sliced and fried bacon, and my uncut bacon slab. It’s a beautiful thing, really.

It doesn’t really taste like any bacon that I’ve ever had. It has a much milder flavor.. still bacon-y.. but actually somewhat subtle. Β As an experiment, I cooked up the end hunk somewhat thick.. (maybe 1.5 cm) to see whether it would crisp and how delicious it would be. Β It turns out, no.. it didn’t really crisp up. It actually reminded me (flavor-wise) of a less salty ham steak with a softer, more pleasant consistency. There’s something about the texture of ham steak that makes me gag. It was a little oily, so I wouldn’t recommend

However, the bacon that I cooked up that was bacon sized kicked the ass of any and all bacons that I’ve ever had. It was, again, a bit more subtly flavored but in the best kind of way. You really don’t realize how much of the flavor from bacon comes from the smoking process until you skip it. It’s SO worth the wait!!

Again, best bacon I’ve ever had. I would highly recommend this recipe to any and all who love bacon. It is fabulous.

About The Confluent Kitchen

I am food obsessed. I love trying new recipes, putzing in the kitchen, making my own cheese and other random kitchen tom-foolery. Follow my exploits.. the good, the bad, and the burnt.
This entry was posted in Bad Food That Tastes Great, Comfort Food, Cooking, Other People's Recipes, Ready Made Items From Scratch and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to And on the sixth day.. there was bacon

  1. Mmmm I bet it is great for cooking!

  2. Wow this looks soo delish! Glad to see your bacon evolution was a success– great job girl! We might try and pull this one off on our blog πŸ˜‰

    — Nicole

  3. siannaj says:

    MMMM make your own mayo and make some BLT’s! That looks super yummy for sure

  4. woohoo! looks fantastic! I second the BLT idea!

  5. The Mouse says:

    Success! Congrats!

  6. Ben says:

    I’m so ridiculously jealous of both the achievement of making your own bacon and the fact that you have lots and lots of bacon.

  7. How truly awesome do those crispy rashers look!!! I can’t let my guy see (or he’ll insist) I make some, aaaahhh!!!

  8. Pingback: Take That, Bainbridge Scholars! | mightstainyourshirt.com

Leave a Reply

