Berbere and I do not mix.

The other weekend I ventured out to Silverlake (so much traffic!!) take a look around the local spice shop, The Spice Station. While inside, I wandered around, sniffing random jars of stuff.. wishing I could find something new that appealed to me.

I finally settled on some organic cacao nibs (I will be encrusting some steak, I think).. and some berbere. For those of you not in the know about berbere (like me, before I bought some).. It’s a mixture like an adobo or masala. It contains paprika, garlic, ginger, dried basil, and chilis. It didn’t smell very spicy.. more smoky like cumin tends to.

Now, the spice purveyor indicated that this was a mild mixture..  so I thought to myself.. Ooooh. Let’s use a ton of this in some panko, bread up some chicken tenders and bake them!!!

Well.. it turned out much spicier than I thought.. so I photographed it.. then made a dippy sauce to go along with it. Honey, ketchup, balsamic, and a little sour cream to mellow out the heat. It’s not pictured because .. well.. I didn’t take a picture. 😀

I paired it with some relatively bland things.. garlic cous cous and some asparagus in a lemon/butter/caper sauce.

Over all, it was OK.. A little spicier than I would have liked.. and overall, I wasn’t a huge fan of the berbere.

Would I make it again? No.. Would I call it a kitchen fail?  ehh.. no. probably not.

I guess not every night can be nanette sauce or perfect pasta.

Stay tuned. This weekend there will be feta, garden photos, and some other random stuff that I haven’t decided on yet! 😀

About The Confluent Kitchen

I am food obsessed. I love trying new recipes, putzing in the kitchen, making my own cheese and other random kitchen tom-foolery. Follow my exploits.. the good, the bad, and the burnt.
This entry was posted in Cooking, Gardening, Kitchen Fail, Organic, Putzing in the kitchen, Rambling and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Berbere and I do not mix.

  1. sounds really good to me! But i like my heat! 🙂

  2. Ben says:

    How do you feel about Barbera?

  3. I think berbere and I would be friends – just like tobasco and I 😉

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

Leave a Reply

