A slightly different approach..

So, with my new found vegetarianism (not really, but maybe just lots less meat) .. my boyfriend and I went to do our weekly shopping trip. While there we were plied with cheese samples. Of course, unable to resist, I took a sample of some gruyere that wasn’t terrible.. and some cheesy toast that was cold (SADFACE) .. but nevertheless the cheese was nutty, and delicious. When even cold cheesy toast shows promise, you know you’re on to something. Into the cart it went.

Now, the cheesy toast that ensued was not photo-worthy, … mostly because I didn’t want cheese toast for dinner. I guess for some reason I felt like this was invalid as a meal. When warmed it was actually not half bad even though I kind of don’t like bread. I attribute this 100% to the kick ass cheese:

Image

Beemster Classic.  Freaking YUM.

This cheesy toast was so much above sub-par that it made me rethink my disdain for welsh rarebit.. I think I am gonna snag some more and actually give it a go instead of shredding cheese and tossing it into the oven to melt.

About The Confluent Kitchen

I am food obsessed. I love trying new recipes, putzing in the kitchen, making my own cheese and other random kitchen tom-foolery. Follow my exploits.. the good, the bad, and the burnt.
This entry was posted in Cooking. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

