Off the wagon before I’ve even gotten on it..

At the urging of my boyfriend, we had bacon mac and cheese tonight. But MICHELLE!!!  You said you were going vegetarian for a little while?!!!  *le sigh*  I have fallen off the wagon already.. which is awkward because I wasn’t really ON the wagon, per say. .. or at all.

If it helps anyone, I didn’t really enjoy it!!

 

Let me preface by saying that I bought this bacon at the store as my own homemade bacon (read: superior to all other bacons) died of old age before I could manage to eat it all. Note to self: Make less… or get a food saver.

It’s not that I don’t like bacon.. we all know this to be untrue. It’s not that I don’t like macaroni and cheese.. it’s that (upon request).. I made my normal mac and cheese tonight.. with onions, mushrooms, and crushed tomato.. and then added bacon. A grievous error.

The combination of any kind of tomato sauce type device and bacon is total bullshit. There. I said it. I said I’d give it a try because I am always being urged to use more bacon.. but seriously. Yuck. It overpowers the tomato.. it overpowered the mild cheese..  It was sucky and I hated it.

Roy, however.. said it was one of the best mac and cheeses I’ve ever made. I am now rethinking life. What if I’m really a crappy cook and the only reason my food is so popular is because he likes crappy food?!

I’m going to bed soon. When I wake up tomorrow it all will have been a dream.

Oh, and PS – I am going to see Avengers 3-D tomorrow at an advance screening for cast and crew (Thanks BABE!!!) .  Be jealous.

 

About The Confluent Kitchen

I am food obsessed. I love trying new recipes, putzing in the kitchen, making my own cheese and other random kitchen tom-foolery. Follow my exploits.. the good, the bad, and the burnt.
This entry was posted in Comfort Food, Cooking, Kitchen Fail, Organic, Putzing in the kitchen and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Off the wagon before I’ve even gotten on it..

  1. My husband and I had macaronni and cheese with ham and avocado last night 🙂 We eat meat (natural meat) about once a week.

  2. Danny says:

    I’m sorry you didn’t enjoy the bacon in there, but your other half did so someone enjoyed your efforts 🙂

  3. Mr. Fed Up says:

    Some things are just worth “falling off the wagon” for.

    And I am jealous you get to see the Avengers. I am looking forward to that movie.

  4. The Mouse says:

    Question is what would you serve at an Avengers movie? So jealous, enjoy. 🙂

  5. bacon is worth staying off the wagon for. It’s truly what keeps my hubby from going vegan. At least roy enjoyed it- figures it would work out that way!

    • I love bacon, is the thing.. just for some reason the combo of bacon and crushed tomato doesn’t do it for me. There is the bright side that Roy enjoyed it. I found the leftovers in the fridge yesterday and I was like, HEY I THOUGHT YOU LIKED THIS!! And he was like, Look inside and see if you see any bacon, tomato or visible cheese. … He had seriously picked out all of the goodness and left the noodle. *sigh*

  6. I feel like I always comment on your bacon posts…I guess bacon just calls my name!

    I have to say this was hilarious. I completely feel you. I’m not a fan either. Also, thanks for showing that not every meal will come out tasting like it came straight out of a Michelin starred kitchen. IT JUST DOESN’T WORK LIKE THAT PEOPLE.

    P.S.– How do you feel about bacon beer??

Leave a Reply

