*happy sigh* Back to the kitchen..

So this weekend, I was finally able to get back into the kitchen and make some cheese. I decided to go exotic with quark.  It’s a creamy german cheese that is somewhat like a cream cheese and yogurt mix. It’s pretty simple. You just bring a half gallon of milk to 85 degrees.. add a few tablespoons of buttermilk.. then bring the whole lot to 95. Let it sit, covered, for 24 hours.  Strain into a colander lined with butter muslin and drain for another 24 hours in the fridge.

 

I added some thyme and oregano to this.. some salt and pepper..

Absolutely delicious. 🙂

 

Next up, breakfast bacon.  Stay tuned!

About The Confluent Kitchen

I am food obsessed. I love trying new recipes, putzing in the kitchen, making my own cheese and other random kitchen tom-foolery. Follow my exploits.. the good, the bad, and the burnt.
This entry was posted in Cheesemaking, Cooking, Organic and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to *happy sigh* Back to the kitchen..

  1. I love that you’ve made this from scratch! I’m sure it tastes like the real deal, it looks fantastic 🙂

Leave a Reply

