100 posts.. Had to do something amazing!

The last couple of days have been pretty hectic. On the way home from work last night I stopped off and bought myself a little present. A kitchen-aid stand mixer. I got a great deal on it, so I decided to pick up an attachment for it too. The sausage making attachment.

Fast forward to this morning.. we went on the search for pork butt, the sausage stuffing attachment, and sausage casings. After a few setbacks, it was about 7 pm .. I was finally ready to start to work on the sausages.

What a god-awful fucking mess.

Filth

The sausages were fabulous. After an initial attempt that was … we’ll call it .. special.. I produced some pretty decent looking sausages. The process was just SO freaking messy. Also, when grinding the pork butt, the grinder got plugged a couple times. After cleaning it out a couple times, then having to regrind the meat and garlic (which was clogging the sausage stuffer attachment) .. I have had more contact with minced meat than the average person should.

Also the noise it made when you put it into the chute as a paste was really nasty.

HOWEVER, I would totally do this again, but in more bulk. Once I’ve already committed to the mess, I don’t feel like it’s something I’d do just to make a few. I’d have to be working in bulk to make the process worth it.

oven baked garlic thyme sausage with sauteed onion and mushroom

Looking back now, I am extremely pleased with how the whole thing came out. They were moist, flavorful.. kind of freaking perfect.

I made my own sausage.  (please picture me doing “the robot”)

A little bonding with the newest member of the Confluent Kitchen team

 

About The Confluent Kitchen

I am food obsessed. I love trying new recipes, putzing in the kitchen, making my own cheese and other random kitchen tom-foolery. Follow my exploits.. the good, the bad, and the burnt.
This entry was posted in Bad Food That Tastes Great, Italian Food, Organic, Other People's Recipes, Putzing in the kitchen, Ready Made Items From Scratch and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 100 posts.. Had to do something amazing!

  1. Madhu says:

    Congratulations on your century! And and on mastering sausage making 🙂

Leave a Reply

