Late to the party.. but I’ve arrived.

I am not much of a recipe type girl. I don’t really enjoy the process of reading and following recipes by rote. It stifles my creativity and doesn’t really teach me any new skills (cause I already know how to read and measure ingredients, you know?)

I feel like a lot of my aversion to baking is rooted in this very thing. I’ve been looking into Michael Ruhlman’s Ratio as I really appreciate technique based cooking that gives me a framework that I can experiment with. I purchased the app and I can’t wait to fiddle with it.

It’s got a lot of ratios for baking bread, sauces, doughs and the like.  Now that I have a kitchen-aid *imagine me hugging it here*  … I really don’t have an excuse.

Be afraid.

About The Confluent Kitchen

I am food obsessed. I love trying new recipes, putzing in the kitchen, making my own cheese and other random kitchen tom-foolery. Follow my exploits.. the good, the bad, and the burnt.
This entry was posted in Cooking, Rambling and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Late to the party.. but I’ve arrived.

  1. Let me know what you think! I am the same way! I recommend the Spice Bible too! It’s a great help!

  2. I’ve been working on baking sans recipes and cookies aren’t too hard. My coffee cake tasted good but I over filled my pan and made a huge mess. Still it’s fun and I’ve perused Ratios but haven’t purchased my own copy yet. Good luck 🙂

  3. Whoo-hoo! New toy! I’m even excited for you! I think this is definitely the best thing out there, I don’t know how much they are in the US but here in Australia they retail for $600-750 Aud, 😦 sad face!

Leave a Reply

