Day 4: Aurore Sauce

This is undiscovered country for me. I plucked a sauce out of Julia Child, then … true to form.. modified it to make it tastier. Take 2 cups of well seasoned bechamel sauce.. add 1/4 cup tomato paste.. and a squiddly bit more salt and pepper.. a squeeze of lemon.. and you’ve got a WAY under-utilized new favorite of mine!

Aurore Sauce – It’s super glossy and delicious.

 

I poached some filet of sole in the aurore sauce so it was super moist and delicious. I served it over white rice (in case you didn’t see the pile of it in that last picture. I paired it with some sauteed spinach with a splash of cider vinegar.

Filet of Sole in Aurore Sauce.. some other less important things on the plate.

All in all, a delicious meal!

My boyfriend and I were discussing  a rating system for my meals.. and we both decided that Rolling Stones songs were the best way to go. Let me recap the week for you in song so far.

1) Pork in Berry Sauce – Jumpin Jack Flash

2) French Onion Soup – Time Is On My Side

3) Macaroni and Cheese – Beast of Burden

4) Sole in Aurore Sauce – Honky Tonk Woman

… We had a very heated debate about these.. and now I’m going to bed. See you soon for Day 5.

About The Confluent Kitchen

I am food obsessed. I love trying new recipes, putzing in the kitchen, making my own cheese and other random kitchen tom-foolery. Follow my exploits.. the good, the bad, and the burnt.
This entry was posted in Comfort Food, Cooking, French Food, Organic, Other People's Recipes, Putzing in the kitchen, Rambling and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Day 4: Aurore Sauce

  1. Ben says:

    I call Exile on Main Street! That album screams tomato sauce.

  2. Ben says:

    On Exile the vocals are treated as another instrument that blends into the whole. That’s Bolognese. What is the necessary vote to overturn a veto?

    • Well I didnt make bolognese so the veto stands but I agree. With bolognese it’s all equally important, ingredient-wise. I will keep this in my back pocket til such time as bolognese makes an appearance….. On day 6….. 😉

      • Ben says:

        Cool album that spans the Birmingham to LA gap – Souls for Sale by Verbena. Available on iTunes. The band formed in Birmingham and moved to LA. Toured with Oasis and Foo Fighters but the first album, Souls for Sale is a hardcore Exile on Main Street. My friend Les is on drums. They are now split, but it was a good run. Check it out.

      • HMMM. Interesting! I will have to check it out. Before I commit to a whole album, is there a particular song you’d recommend?

      • Ben says:

        Hot Blood is the first, and in my mind the best, but The Song That Ended Your Career is a close second.

      • Paying for music is so alien to me.. but ok. I will purchase and let you know what I think. 😀

Leave a Reply

