Viva la Sauce Week!!

After what could only be considered one of the crappiest days that I’ve had in a long while, I decided that the only thing that could rejuvenate my spirits was mac-n-cheese with homemade bacon bits in it. Good thing that:

1) I could totally work this into sauce week

2) I had some bacon still

I started with a blonde roux (because the cheddar I had was tangy, but didn’t really have the underlying flavor that I was looking for.. ).. then added milk.. and it became a bechamel.. then I added some cheddar and it turned automagically into a mornay sauce.

I cubed up some thick cut bacon strips that I made a couple weeks back, then cubed them, seasoned lightly, then dropped them into the sauce.

Boiled some twisty noodles and viola!

 

 

 

 

While it did not ultimately restore my good spirits, it did fill my belly with awesome food which made me very sleepy.  In a pinch, I’ll take it. 🙂

Let the saucing continue!

About The Confluent Kitchen

I am food obsessed. I love trying new recipes, putzing in the kitchen, making my own cheese and other random kitchen tom-foolery. Follow my exploits.. the good, the bad, and the burnt.
This entry was posted in Comfort Food, Cooking, French Food, Organic, Putzing in the kitchen, Ready Made Items From Scratch and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

