… a not so brief hiatus, Sauce Week: Day 5, and the coolest cake EVER

It’s been a while. I know. I was off to sunny (HUMID) Florida for some much needed family time. While there, I was able to show off some of my fancy-pants cooking skills and continue the Sauce Week tradition with the ever-popular Nanette Sauce. (We all knew this time was coming.)

It’s always a pleasure to spend Sunday afternoon putzing in the kitchen.. and even more a pleasure to cook for those you love.

nanette sauce

This is a recycled Nanette photo. I forgot to take a new picture, but I consider this to be a reasonable facsimilie of my awesome dinner.

To celebrate my arrival (and because who doesn’t need jello shots at 11AM on a Saturday?) my parents threw a barbeque/party. It’s been a bit since I’ve had the opportunity to go home, so it was kind of awesome to receive such an amazing welcome home!

But.. to the point of this portion (which, shockingly isn’t jello shots in the morning).. this EPIC cake.

hello kitty cake

Please note: This was done by a professional, NOT ME. If I had done this it would have looked like a hot mess. Mad props to Kim at Funny Cake Bakery.

SHAMELESS ADVERTISING PLUG: Visit the awesomeness at http://www.funnycakebakery.com for all of your hand pie, cake, and regular pie needs in the SW FL area. This chick is a rock star.

About The Confluent Kitchen

I am food obsessed. I love trying new recipes, putzing in the kitchen, making my own cheese and other random kitchen tom-foolery. Follow my exploits.. the good, the bad, and the burnt.
This entry was posted in Cooking, Desserts, French Food, Organic, Other People's Recipes, Putzing in the kitchen, Rambling, Restaurant Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to … a not so brief hiatus, Sauce Week: Day 5, and the coolest cake EVER

  1. Ben says:

    I’m trying to picture my parents serving Jello shots. Ice is a mixer at their house. Anything else is barbarism.

Leave a Reply

