Salad Week – Day 2: Black ‘N’ Bleu Salad

So, in keeping with the Salad Week tradition (if one day can be called a tradition), I present to you the Black ‘N’ Bleu Salad..

Black n Bleu Salad

Grilled NY Strip (grassfed, please) with homemade bleu cheese dressing, over your typical run of the mill garden salad.

We started off by chopping up a typical garden salad. Romaine, tomatoes, some mushrooms.Got to use a couple tomatoes from the garden. We’re still producing pretty small tomatoes but they’re getting better. I sprinkled in a bit of crumbled bleu cheese for texture..

Roy started grilling up some super yummy grassfed ny strip steaks while I worked on a suitable dressing. They were perfect and delicious. (thankyouhoney)

For the dressing, I combined about half a cup of bleu cheese (right off the block).. Now, keep in mind that this block was purchased from Costco so it was kind of flavorless for bleu cheese, so you may want to use less depending on the quality.

To this cheese, I added the juice of 1 lemon and a half tsp of rice vinegar (the cheese had no flavor so you may need to rethink the vinegar if you buy something with uber good quality), 2 tbsp of mayo, 1/3 cup of sour cream, 1 tsp of granulated garlic (I know, I’m using jar spice?!), and liberal amounts of salt and pepper. Overall, the dressing turned out really well. I prefer my dressing a bit thick, and not runny. You can add a smidge of milk if you like, but be sure to adjust the seasoning and cheese content to account for it or it will be bland bland bland!

It wasn’t the healthiest thing I’ve made recently (bleu cheese dressing .. im sure the calories are like woah!!!) but it was probably the tastiest!!

About The Confluent Kitchen

I am food obsessed. I love trying new recipes, putzing in the kitchen, making my own cheese and other random kitchen tom-foolery. Follow my exploits.. the good, the bad, and the burnt.
This entry was posted in Bad Food That Tastes Great, Cooking, Gardening and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Salad Week – Day 2: Black ‘N’ Bleu Salad

  1. This looks awesome. This is a salad even my 17 year old brother would eat! Looks delicious….thanks for sharing, yum!

  2. Ben says:

    “It wasn’t the healthiest thing I’ve made recently”
    But as you pointed out in the taco salad post, it’s a salad.

Leave a Reply

