A Less Vicious Tale of Dinner Preparation: No Further Injuries To Report

My self-inflicted (’cause I’m uncoordinated) mandolin wound is healing nicely. I decided it was time to get back into the kitchen again, but this time with some less vicious kitchen gadgetry. I am pleased to report no further injuries! 

 

Let the uncoordinated happy dance ensue.

I thought it important to start out small.  The Confluent Boyfriend grilled up what turned out to be the thinnest NY Strip steaks I have ever seen while I busted out my food mill.

I sauteed up one shallot, one clove of elephant garlic, and some crimini mushrooms in some butter. I set those aside along with a tablespoon of fresh chopped dill.  I combined 1/2 of the shallot, 1/2 of the garlic and some boiled redskin potatoes to make some awesome mashed potatoes.. well.. they became awesome about the time that I added butter, cream, and seasoning.. but up until that point, they were some of the greatest unseasoned mashed potatoes known to man.

I wilted some baby kale and seasoned vigorously. I tossed in the afore mentioned mushrooms, the remaining garlic, and the shallots.

With dinner preparations complete, we sat down to:

A Trifecta of Deliciousness

 

About The Confluent Kitchen

I am food obsessed. I love trying new recipes, putzing in the kitchen, making my own cheese and other random kitchen tom-foolery. Follow my exploits.. the good, the bad, and the burnt.
This entry was posted in Comfort Food, Cooking, Organic, Putzing in the kitchen, Rambling and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to A Less Vicious Tale of Dinner Preparation: No Further Injuries To Report

  1. Danny says:

    I’m sorry to hear about your injury — those mandolins scare the heck out of me — keep them away! Glad to see you were still able to enjoy a nice dinner together!

  2. twisterfish says:

    I’m also anti-mandolin … also based on a painful personal experience.
    I agree with you: mandolin = evil torture device

Leave a Reply

