“What I’ve Got Laying Around” Chili

The Confluent Boyfriend and I were having a discussion about my new-found (old-found, revisited) vegetarianism. His primary complaint is usually that we fall back to pasta as a main dish. As a challenge to myself, I’ve decided that, other than mac and cheese which makes a frequent appearance in my kitchen, that nothing I made would be about the pasta, rice, or grains.

I decided that all of the meals that I make have to be able to stand alone without the carbs. The whole point of this endeavor is to eat better, get more nutrients.. take better care of myself.

For your viewing (and consuming) pleasure, I present my ‘cleaning out the veggie drawer’ chili.

Mild Vegetarian Chili

Hearty Vegetarian Chili Topped with Spinach and Cheddar

 

I started with 2 large carrots cut into a medium dice, 4 spring onions, 5 cloves garlic, 1 16 oz can of crushed tomatoes, and a tablespoon of tomato paste. I added the veg and tomatoes into a pan on low, simmering until the veg started to become slightly soft. I added 16 oz of vegetable stock, along with cumin, jerk seasoning, paprika, salt, and pepper. I let this simmer for 20 minutes until everything was warmed through and bubbly.

At this point, I checked for taste.. decided it was a little TOO acidic, then added 1 tbsp sugar.. which helped a lot.

I added 2 12 oz cans of black beans, one 10 oz can of pinto beans (thoroughly washed because that liquid is YUCK) and warmed through. I turned the chili down to low, so as not to destroy the beans via over cooking.

I added some chopped spinach greens at the end so they didn’t get all gross and slimy.. chopped some fresh over top, along with some cheddar.

Why didn’t I put chili powder or actual chili peppers in this? Well, that’s an excellent question!  I didn’t have any… so this was like the ultimate con-job chili. Not only is there no meat, but there’s no chili either.

After I took the photo, I classed this dish up by adding a butt ton of ‘hint of lime’ tortilla chips.  Good stuff.

About The Confluent Kitchen

I am food obsessed. I love trying new recipes, putzing in the kitchen, making my own cheese and other random kitchen tom-foolery. Follow my exploits.. the good, the bad, and the burnt.
This entry was posted in Bar Food, Comfort Food, Cooking, Food, Organic, Putzing in the kitchen, Vegetarian. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to “What I’ve Got Laying Around” Chili

  1. Ben says:

    I’m not going to decry your meatless revolution, but you will always be the girl who cured her own bacon to me. As to the pinto gunk, ever slipped on a wooden deck? There is a gel or congealagulationant that forms on the surface of an wooden deck left stagnant for months. It’s as slippery as moss and as mucus like as a smashed jellyfish (don’t ask). I believe this to be the same substance as pinto goo. Discuss.

    • Indeed. I don’t look down upon meat eaters, nor do I dislike sweet delicious bacon.. (wistful sigh) but its terrible for my digestion.

      As for the goo, I find your theory both interesting and plausible.. as for my own thoughts, I maintain it either to be okra slime’s beany cousin or of the same origin as the goo that ate Tasha Yar on Next Generation.

  2. That looks so yummy!

  3. LFFL says:

    Looks great. I love a good chili!

  4. I never make chili the same way twice. I’ve never thrown paprika into the mix. I’ll need to do that. Funny how you can make a dish so many times and it never gets old.

    • It was hungarian paprika so it was a little smoky. It also added some nice color.

      Chili is definitely one of those versatile meals where you can use whatever is handy at the time, and make tons of variations that still taste great.

      I am thinking next time some green chili.

Leave a Reply

