Reflections

I’ve been writing for Examiner.com for a month now. It’s been taking me a bit of time to find my voice. I know, here, that I have a clearly defined point of view. I didn’t really think about the challenges of trying to adapt my style to a second or third person.

I was initially focused on it from a reporting standpoint. There are periodically events, but mostly it’s just me talking about random restaurants in the area, or sharing recipes. This month they’ve been running an incentive though. There’s a flat payment for list items. (OH pay per click, I love you and hate you at the same time).   So I have been cranking them out because.. hey, I like money. 

It turns out that I am really able to be ME when I’m doing a list. It’s easier in short format.     I feel that it will be easier for me to adapt that into my longer articles now. I am starting to really enjoy this format. It allows me to act as a subject matter expert, rather than a just telling you about a restaurant or some place I went.. I can tell you about what I know. The things that I’ve done. Essentially I am making it about me and I like that.  

I’ve always been a decent written communicator, but writing is entirely different for me now because I’m not just focused on what I’m saying and whether I find it funny..  I have to be focused on my audience and whether THEY find it interesting/funny/useful. I am more focused now on adding value to my writing instead of just word vomiting the stuff in my head out on the page.

Oh, growing pains.

http://www.examiner.com/gourmet-food-in-glendale-ca/michelle-borek 

For those interested parties, my articles/lists/reviews/recipes can be found above. 

About The Confluent Kitchen

I am food obsessed. I love trying new recipes, putzing in the kitchen, making my own cheese and other random kitchen tom-foolery. Follow my exploits.. the good, the bad, and the burnt.
This entry was posted in Cooking and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

