Sauce Week: Pork Loin in Raspberry Merlot Reduction

Day 1 down.. 6 more to go.

I stopped off at the somewhat jenky market near my place because I was too lazy to go into a real grocery store. You can already tell this post is going places, right?

So I grabbed a pork loin and hit the “produce aisle” and picked up some raspberries and blackberries. I figured I could reduce those since they had no cranberries that weren’t canned and no celery root. I also grabbed some green beans because I thought they’d make a nice color contrast, and I like them. I have heard rumors that they can even make you more intelligent…

Well one hour later and I had a nicely prepared pork loin that looked like it was bleeding out all over my plate. Perhaps the light color of the meat, the liquidity of the sauce… maybe it wasn’t a good combination.  It looked like voluntary manslaughter, and so you get no pictures.

I (instead) decided to do some quick re-imaging of the sauce. I strained it really well because the seeds were annoying.. sweetened it a bit more, thickened it a LOT.. and now, you have before you.. Sauce Week: Day 1

Image

See. That totally looks like intentional ‘saucing’ right? RIGHT.

About The Confluent Kitchen

I am food obsessed. I love trying new recipes, putzing in the kitchen, making my own cheese and other random kitchen tom-foolery. Follow my exploits.. the good, the bad, and the burnt.
This entry was posted in Comfort Food, Cooking, French Food, Putzing in the kitchen and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Sauce Week: Pork Loin in Raspberry Merlot Reduction

  1. It looks tasty! Very deliberate sauciness indeed 🙂

Leave a Reply

