.. making my triumphant return!

First there was work stuff.. then there was school stuff..  then there was vacation/birthday stuff .. then there was stomach flu stuff.. so it’s been a while. I’d like to say that I was having a blast during my absence, but that would be a dirty dirty lie.

I woke up today feeling human after le stomach flu for the first day in a while. My first thought was like, ‘Just got a mandolin for my birthday (thanks self!) so GAME ON!!’

After a quick trip to the store, I settled on a fennel and green apple salad with a vinaigrette dressing.

 

 

The Dressing:

1 part cranberry pear balsamic vinegar

2 parts light olive oil

1 part honey

a dash of salt

a smidge of pepper

 

 

The Salad:

1 bulb fennel

1 granny smith apple

a dozen seedless grapes (red for some color), halved

a few fronds (? are they fronds??) of curly leaf parsley, chopped

1 medium shallot, sliced thin

1/4 cup slivered almonds, toasted

 

So, now that I have all this awesome salad, what to do with it?  I actually let the apple and fennel soak in water for about 35 minutes while I dealt with dinner so it didn’t oxidize. The soaking killed some of the fennel flavor, which is actually kind of good because .. I mean, I like licorice as much as the next person but .. yeah..

 

The main course was pan fried chicken thigh with a brandy and tomato cream sauce over perpetually boring and crappy cous cous. Keep in mind, folks, that this was a second try sauce. While I was draining the salad stuff, and dressing it, I managed to burn my first one.. which was a brandy, chicken stock, and cream sauce.. Well, it wasn’t burnt but I’ll say that it was REALLY reduced. Like.. a lot. Which is a damn shame because initially the brandy had reduced until it was almost caramel-ish and it was really a great flavor..

Since I managed to pretty much decimate the fond (rich pan goodness from the chicken), I needed something add some depth of flavor. So I ended up with a branette sauce through trial and error. It was really damn good.

Sauce:

1 shot brandy

1 tbsp tomato paste

1/4 cup cream

2 tbsp chicken stock

salt and pepper to taste

 

I’m telling you, for a screw up, this was awesome sauce. Until tomorrow, I bid you adieu!

About The Confluent Kitchen

I am food obsessed. I love trying new recipes, putzing in the kitchen, making my own cheese and other random kitchen tom-foolery. Follow my exploits.. the good, the bad, and the burnt.
This entry was posted in Cooking, French Food, Kitchen Fail, Organic, Putzing in the kitchen and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to .. making my triumphant return!

  1. Oh-oh, stomach flu, school stuff and life & home…I’d say its definitely your triumphant return! As for the supple and fennel and parsley frond salad it sounds so clean and crisp with that rich and saucy looking chicken you have there! Brandy is something that works so well in sauces, but I always forget to buy some…

    Hope you’re on the mend soon 😉

Leave a Reply

